About Us

The Farmers Bank opened for business September 16, 1850 on Main Street in downtown Frankfort. Since that time the bank’s goal has remained the same, to provide the citizens of our communities the best financial services in a friendly and caring environment. Our priorities have always included fostering growth in our communities through the efforts of employees and the bank itself. 

Farmers Bank is a Federal Reserve member bank. You can visit the Federal Reserve's website by clicking here. With eight branch locations, knowledgeable bankers and a full complement of consumer and commercial banking products, we are eager to provide any financial service an individual or business may need. Trust,  Investment and Insurance services are an important part of helping our customers prosper.  

The bank makes it a practice to sponsor projects at local schools, civic groups, children’s organizations and sports teams. According to our President, Rick Harp, “We are proud of the many Farmers employees investing their time and talents in making our communities better places in which to live. When our communities prosper, we all prosper.”

Farmers Bank is part of the Kentucky owned and operated bank holding company, Farmers Capital Bank Corporation which is headquartered here in Frankfort. Farmers Capital Bank Corporation operates 35 banking locations in 22 communities throughout Central and Northern Kentucky, a data processing company, and an insurance company. Its stock is publicly traded on the NASDAQ Stock Market LLC exchange in the Global Select Market tier under the symbol: FFKT

Other affiliate banks of the Corporation are:

United Bank and Trust Co.: Georgetown - Lexington - Midway - Nicholasville - Stamping Ground - Versailles - Wilmore

First Citizens Bank: Elizabethtown - Shepherdsville - Radcliff - Mt. Washington 

Citizens Bank of Northern Kentucky: Newport - Bellevue - Alexandria - Highland Heights - Fort Thomas - Crestview Hills – Florence

Federal Reserve Consumer Information